Top Ten Albums

1334993 copy
This is by far one of the hardest top ten lists I have made. Music has always been an obsession of mine. I love all kinds of music from Bluegrass, Christian, Pop, Alternative, Rock, Country, Folk, R&B, Rap…I love it all. When dwindling down to my top ten favorite albums, I have chosen ten that have spoken to me the most. I often find myself running to these albums a lot. A good album holds together through time and every song holds their weight and has an important piece in the album.


A_Rush_of_Blood_to_the_Head

10. A Rush of Blood to the Head – Cold Play (2003)
I was obsessed with this album throughout college. Every song on this album is beautifully written, played, and serves a purpose to a complete album that is magnificent. Listening to Cold Play is always soothing and perfect to play when you’re in the mood to drive through the back roads in Kentucky or Tennessee.

2367240
9. Barton Hollow – The Civil Wars (2011)
The Civil Wars is my newest favorite. This album is amazing. 20 Years, Poison & Wine, The Violet Hour, Forget Me Not, Birds of a Feather, and Dance Me to the End of Love are among my favorite songs from this album. I love their folk/alternative/country feel that flows throughout this album.

jagged_little_pill
8. Jagged Little Pill – Alanis Morissette (1996)
Alanis has won 7 Grammys including one in 1996 for Jagged Little Pill winning album of the year. This album is one of the best albums that came out in the 90’s hands down. My favorite songs from the album would include: You Oughta Know, Hand In My Pocket, You Learn, Head Over Feet, and Ironic. This is yet another album that flows beautifully together and fits together so very well. Alanis also released an acoustic album of Jagged Little Pill that is perfect as well.

204002
7. Jesus Freak – dc Talk (1995)
This is probably one of the greatest and most well known Christan albums and bands there is. This was the first Christian band and album I bought and fell in love with their message and words of God’s love and how were should treat others around us. I love Jesus Freak, Day by Day, Colored People…really every single song on here is phenomenal. Between You and Me is also one of my absolute favorites. dc Talk has won 4 Grammy’s and 16 Dove Awards.

Sheryl+Crow+HQ+PNG+cover-1
6. Sheryl Crow – Sheryl Crow (1996)
A great album from Sheryl. If It Makes You Happy is probably my favorite song ever and the video fits it perfectly. A Change Would Do You Good, Home, Oh Marie, Sweet Rosalyn, Everyday is a Winding Road, are among my favorites. I love Sheryl’s voice, her realness, her lyrics, and her emotions in every song.

CrazySexyCool
5. CrazySexyCool – TLC (1995)
In my opinion, TLC is the best female group ever, yes even a notch above Destiny’s Child. CrazySexyCool is known to be one of the best R&B albums ever written and produced. It is classic R&B, classic 90’s, and classic awesome! Creep, Diggin’ On You, Waterfalls, Red Light Special, Switch, Sumthin’ Wicked This Way Comes are amazing tracks. Case Of The Fake People is one of my favorite songs ever. TLC brought real lyrics to the table, they were never teeny-boppy, fake, or tried to copy other artists. They were themselves, leave it or take it. It is still unreal to me though that Left Eye has passed away, RIP girl. The group has won 5 Grammy’s.

110363_1_f
4. Behind The Eyes – Amy Grant (1997)
This is the most emotional of all Amy’s albums in my opinion. This album was issued during the end of her first marriage and a lot of that is shown through her lyrics and tracks on this album. She bares her soul to her fans and shares struggles, pains, hopes, and her joys. This album to me seems like a very personal look into her heart, soul, and thoughts. I love when artist let lose and bare their soul. It’s even better when it is their personality, their soul, their words, their experiences, vs the music that is so fabricated by artists today.

Image
3. The Globe Sessions – Sheryl Crow (1998)
I remember when this album came out when I was in high school. My Favorite Mistake was the first single released and I fell in love. This album for me was real and uncut Sheryl. Again every single song on this album brings out emotions and memories for me. It Don’t Hurt, Anything But Down, The Difficult Kind, Members Only, and Sweet Child Of Mine are my absolute favorites on this album. Sheryl has won 9 Grammy Awards.

Image
2. Conversations – Sara Groves (2000)
Every song on this album in enriched in God’s word and truth. I have listened to Christian music all my life and I have never been so moved through anyone’s music as much as I have been moved through Sara’s. Every song on this album unwraps scripture in such a real and understanding way to anyone who seeks truth and God’s path for their lives. I can’t give you a list of favorites songs, because they are literally all my favorites. These is not one bad song on this album. This is an album I always find myself coming back to in all sorts of times in my life.

Image
1. Heart in Motion – Amy Grant (1991)
The best selling contemporary Christian artist ever. She has won 6 Grammy’s and 25 Dove Awards. This album is full of love, energy, relationships, emotions, and awesomeness. I can listen to every single song on this album over and over and to me that is what makes a great album as a whole. A unit that stands the test of time and still means the most, if not more every time I listen to it.  This album was my first ever cassette I owned and it never left my tape player. Amy has always been a hero of mine. She stands for sharing God’s love, hope and positive uplifting words.

Top Ten Albums

Leave a comment